Welcome to W3Courses
 Like Us on Facebook

Miami Hurricanes Football Atlantic Coast Conference of the NCAA's Division

The Miami Hurricanes football program competes in the Atlantic Coast Conference of the NCAA's Division I Football Bowl Subdivision for the University of Miami. The program began in 1926 and has won 5 AP national championships (1983, 1987, 1989, 1991, 2001).Miami is ranked fourth on the list of All-time Associated Press National Poll Championships, behind Notre Dame, Oklahoma and Alabama Two Hurricanes have won the Heisman Trophy and six have been inducted to the College Football Hall of Fame. Miami also holds a number of NFL Draft records, including most first round selections in a single draft and most consecutive drafts with at least one first round selection

The team was previously coached by Randy Shannon and plays its home games at Sun Life Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. Shannon was fired on November 27, 2010 following the conclusion of the 2010 regular season. On December 13, 2010, Miami appointed Al Golden, the former head coach of Temple University, as the program's new head coach.

As of 2007-08, the football program's annual expenses totaled $15,327,023.